Photo - Trio DaNols

Trio DaNols


Saturday, September 28th
7:30 PM

$20 (for under-18s and students, available at the door only)


* Buy tickets online at Eventbrite *


Trio DaNols
Pernille Kaarslev, french horn
Jónína Erna Arnardóttir, piano
Morten Fagerli, piano

Trio DaNoIs promotes Nordic music and Nordic music culture. Since 2014, the trio has given approximately 70 concerts in ten European countries and in the United States of America.  This concert at Pontiac Enchanté will be their Canadian debut.  The program features works by various Danish, Norwegian, and Icelandic composers, representing the nationalities of the three performers.  Three of the works on the program, ‘Icebreaker’ by Icelandic composer Tryggvi M. Baldvinsson, ‘Homage à Carl Nielsen’ by Norwegian composer Morten Gaathaug, and ‘Islandia Insula est’ by Icelandic composer Gísli Jóhann Grétarsson, were written especially for the trio.  The trio met while studying at the Grieg Academy in Bergen, Norway, in the mid 1990s.  Pontiac Enchanté is very grateful to Pétur Ásgeirsson, the Icelandic Ambassador in Canada, and the Icelandic Embassy, for their support in presenting this concert.


Carl Nielsen (1865-1931)
Festival prelude for the new century (1899)

Niels Wilhelm Gade (1817-90)
From Fantasy pieces, op. 43 (1864)
Andantino con moto
Allegro molto vivace

Christian Sinding (1856- 1941)
Rustle of spring, op. 32 no.3 (1896) (Arr. T. A. Johnson)

Icelandic folksongs, Arr. Vilberg Viggósson
Krummi krunkar úti
Kvölda tekur sest er sól
Á Sprengisandi

Tryggvi M. Baldvinsson (b. 1965)
Icebreaker (2013)

Morten Gaathaug (b. 1955)
From Festive music for two, op. 21 (1981)
In the waltzing mood

Peter Arnold Heise (1830-79)
Fantasy piece

Páll Ísólfsson (1893-1974)
Þér landnemar hetjur af konungakyni
Brennið þið vitar (1930)

Emil Thoroddsen (1868-1944)
Hver á sér fegra föðurland (1944)

Gísli Jóhann Grétarsson (b. 1983)
Island insula est (2018)

Jórunn Viðar (1918-2017)
Kall sat undir kletti
Unglingurinn í skóginum

Sveinbjörn Sveinbjörnsson (1847-1927)
Duets on Scottish National Dances:
Strathspey and Reel
Danmarks Minde

Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
Norwegian dances, op. 35
Allegro marcato
Allegretto tranquillo e grazioso
Allegro moderato alla Marcia
Allegro molto

Morten Gaathaug
Hommage à Carl Nielsen, op. 102 (2015)